Each month, we feature a Bright Star teacher and student pair, who share with us their own special experiences in dance.

Teacher Spotlight: Caity Hager – Zumba
Sundays, 4:00-5:00 PM

Q. What’s your movement background?

Portland Maine Zumba teacher Caity Hager
Portland Maine Zumba teacher Caity Hager

A. I took ballet and jazz dance classes for several years when I was young. I hadn’t danced for years when I went to my first Zumba class in 2010. I was nervous to try Zumba and didn’t know much about it, but was determined to try a class each evening for a week when I was looking for a way to get into an exercise routine. Since my first class, I haven’t gone much more than a week without Zumba – it’s such a fun way to move!

Q. How does dance complement your life?

A. Letting loose and moving around is a great way for me to take a break from everything else that is going on in my day. I love going to a Zumba class and having an hour of fun where I just dance around and get a great workout!

Q. What’s your favorite kind of student?

A. I love students who come to class ready to smile, try new moves, and have fun. Someone who knows that Zumba is just a fun way to get fit and it’s OK if it takes awhile to catch on to a new song or move. I’m always smiling and laughing and it’s great if you are, too!

Caity teaches Zumba at Bright Star World Dance on Sundays at 4:00 PM. Visit our website at http://brightstarworlddance.com/ to learn more!

Student Spotlight: Paige – Zumba

Q. What do you study at Bright Star?

Portland Maine Zumba student Paige
Portland Maine Zumba student Paige

A. Zumba with Caity!!!

Q. What drew you to Bright Star?

A. I first attended zumba with Caity after a referral from my sister. I was looking for a place and a class where I could have fun and feel comfortable. The location and timing were convenient and the class sounded fun. It turned out to be a lovely studio and awesome class. I was hooked.

Q. How did dance come into your life?

A. Honestly, through zumba classes with Caity. I have never been much of a dancer with the exception of bopping around at home by myself.

Q. From your experience, what would you want a new dance student to know?

Portland Maine Zumba class
Portland Maine Zumba class

A. Anyone can do it! Give it a try! I was always intimidated by fitness classes, especially dance. I never thought I would be successful in a dance class but now I feel confident, have fun and work up a sweat! In a good way!

Caity is the perfect teacher for people with varying abilities. She is knowledgeable and is able to meet her students at whatever level they are at physically. I am having fun and becoming more healthy in a supportive environment. The music is a perk too!

Learn about all the classes offered at Bright Star World Dance at www.brightstarworlddance.com !

Leave a comment