Each month, we feature an interview with a Bright Star World Dance student, who shares with us their own unique experiences in dance.

June 2016 Student Spotlight: Christi R. – Belly Dance Student

Q: What do you study at Bright Star?

Portland Maine belly dance student Christi R
Portland Maine belly dance student Christi R

A. I study belly dancing with both Rosa Noreen and Heather Powers.

Q: What drew you to Bright Star?

A. My dear friend Jerusha fell in love with Bright Star and told me all about it.

I was apprehensive – fearing I could injure my back more – but after reading more about belly dance (a dance form I knew nothing about) and visiting the studio’s website, I made the leap and joined Rosa’s beginner class with several friends.

Q: What do you enjoy about your teacher’s class?

A. The classes are held in a positive and safe space. I don’t feel self-conscious and the teachers put me at ease. Classes are challenging and really focus on craft, understanding culture, and your own feeling of happiness as a dancer.

Q: How did dance come into your life?

A. My mom loved to dance and took classes into adulthood. When I was three years old, she took me to my first class and all throughout my childhood years I took ballet, tap, and jazz.

I’ve had a number of back injuries since, and re-starting dance was a very big deal for me. I’d seen back surgeons, PTs, doctors, and more; been told I’ll need extensive surgeries and could wind up not walking someday. I developed deep distrust with my own body, fearing any physical activity.

Portland Maine belly dance student Christi R
Portland Maine belly dance student Christi R

After working with an incredible PT at Wildwood Medicine, I’ve avoided all surgery and have started to regain trust. Dancing at Bright Star has allowed me to be more in-tune with my body and to rid myself of the fear of getting hurt through physical activity.

Q: From your experience, what would be helpful for a new dance student to know?

A. Belly dance is not at all what you expect. It’s taught me so many things about my body. It’s important to know that classes are intimate and made up of dancers from all walks of life. And new dancers should make that the leap – participate in the recitals! They’re so much fun!

Join Christi–check out Rosa & Heather’s classes at Bright Star World Dance. Visit our website at www.brightstarworlddance.com for all of the info!

Leave a comment